NPSWilderness Photo

In 1964 the Wilderness Act established the National Wilderness Preservation System comprised of 54 wilderness areas on U.S. Forest Service land. Since then the National Wilderness Preservation System has grown almost every year and now includes over 640 wilderness areas in 44 states. (To see a list of wilderness areas designated by year, click here)

Subsequent wilderness areas require additional legislation which may address regional concerns and affect local management. For information on legislation designating individual wilderness areas, search the law library found at www.wilderness.net

To see lists of NPS designated, proposed, and recommended wilderness areas, look under Reference Documents below.

Reference Documents